Sign up for our FREE monthly Updates!

Top Books about Cats--Adult Fiction

@catsstories  #CatStories

Please Share

Updated October 21, 2016.

Among the most enjoyable of reads are adult fiction cat stories. Kitty books rated high on my reading list way back in the day. Sharing them with my children as they grew was a reminiscent pleasure, one we indulged in nightly.  

To this day, I still enjoy picking up good books about cats, grown-up stories.  

You know the ones I mean, those spine-tingling tails of intrigue that make cats puff up and hiss; the thrilling mysteries that stimulate the feline intellect and the psychedelic fantasies of cat imaginings.

What is Your Favorite Adult Fiction Book about Cats?

Share in the comment section at the end of this webpage and I will feature your post in the directory below.

There’s a certain something about cat characters.  They exhibit resourcefulness like no human can. Their inventiveness and creativity are magical; they conjure up incredible things.  

In your mind’s eye you can almost see . . . you know it’s there, but you can’t quite touch it the way a cat can, yet it’s so real . . . 

. . . or is it?  

The magnetism of feline illusion fascinates readers.  Mesmerized, they’re lured in and held captive inside a strange world of curiosities . . . nine lives, cat cults and spellbinding phenomena.

Enthralled you pull well-worn favorite books about cats from the shelf; cat stories like no other.  

Dusting off the book jacket, you seek out a dimly lit corner where you won’t be found.

Your eyes widen in anticipation as you open the cover.  Does your heart skip a beat as you succumb to feline enchantment?  

Turn the page . . . 

. . . suddenly, you’re absorbed, lost in another time, another place . . . 

Explore Adult Books about Cats

Click on the genre below to find the books about cats you'll love!


Oliver the Cat Who Saved Christmas: The Tale of a Little Cat with a Big Heart

by Sheila Norton

"Heartfelt, moving, and inspiring, a Christmas book perfect for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob.

Oliver the cat is a timid little thing, who rarely ventures from his home in the Foresters’ Arms.

Then his life changes dramatically when a fire breaks out in the pub kitchen and he is left homeless and afraid. But, with the kindness of the humans around him, he soon learns to trust again. And, in his own special way, he helps to heal those around him.

However, it isn’t until he meets a little girl in desperate need of a friend that he realizes this village needs a Christmas miracle...

Touching and genuine, this is the tale of a little cat with a big heart. Fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World will be delighted."


I Am a Cat: Three Volumes in One

by Soseki Natsume

"Cat lovers will delight in the thoughts of a cat whose particular joy in life is commenting on the folly of human beings. Based on a nameless cat's observations of upper-middle-class Japanese society of the Meiji era, the essence of I AM A CAT is its humour and sardonic truths. Written over the course of 1904-06, this book is full of acerbic wit as it follows the whimsical adventures of a world-weary stray kitten."



The Lives and Times of Archy and Mehitabel

by Don Marquis

"Of all the literary genres, humor has the shortest shelf life—except for Archy and Mehitabel, that is. First published in 1916, it is a classic of American literature. Archy is a cockroach, inside whom resides the soul of a free-verse poet; he communicates with Don Marquis by leaping upon the keys of the columnist's typewriter. In poems of varying length, Archy pithily describes his wee world, the main fixture of which is Mehitabel, a devil-may-care alley cat."  Meet a real life Mehitabel in, Mehitabel the Cat--Star or Co-star?

Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats

by T. S. Eliot, Edward Gorey

"An engaging collection of humorous poems. These verses, originally composed to amuse Eliot’s intimate friends, have proven irresistible to cat lovers, lovers of nonsense, and admirers of Eliot throughout the English-speaking world. 'Enough ferocious fancy and parody to knock the spots off most cat books and most...verses'."

Science Fiction/Fantasy

Top Books about Cats by Independent Authors

Six Months of Wonderful:  A Bittersweet Tale of a Magical Creature

by Beatrice Brusic

"This is the true story of an unforgettable cat. Her arrival into my life was one of those rare surprises that life throws at you at times when you least expect it. This is a sweet, tender and ultimately heartbreaking story of love, loss and the bond we forge with our animals, a bond that doesn't necessarily take years to develop. A short relationship with a special pet can be just as intense and valuable, as a long one, as you will see if you join me in this journey."

Read more about Jolie the cat on my webpage, Six Months of Wonderful.

Tails from the Park (5 Book Series) & Max and Tammy

by Tim Hammill

"Meet Max, a cat who tells stories, collected in a series of humorous, adventure tales full of laughter, tenderness, and escapes in Tails From The Park. . . Full of colorful characters whose sentiments can turn Max from quiet napping intermission to extraordinary mayhem each story sets its own pace . . . Curl up for lighthearted entertainment and get your Maxitude."

Read more about Max in, Hobo Cat or Super Tramp?

More Cat Books You Might Enjoy

Cat Books--Cats, Cats and more Cats! Book Store

Top Books about Cats--Childrens Books

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Home > Cat Books > Top Books about Cats-Adult Fiction